Skip to main content
Key details
Exhibitions and Shows
Saturday 24 February
9:00am - 4:00pm
76 Wingewarra Street, Dubbo, NSW 2830
Other dates
Sunday 25 February 9:00am - 4:00pm
Monday 26 February 9:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday 27 February 9:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday 28 February 9:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday 29 February 9:00am - 4:00pm
Friday 1 March 9:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday 2 March 9:00am - 4:00pm
Sunday 3 March 9:00am - 4:00pm
Monday 4 March 9:00am - 4:00pm
About this event

Cats and dogs have been cherished on board ships for as long as people have made sea voyages.

In a life from which children and families are usually missing, and are often very much missed, pets provide a focus for emotions and affection.

Sydney photographer Sam Hood went on board countless ships between 1900 and the 1950s. He took hundreds of photographs of crew members for souvenirs of their visit or to send home to families.

This selection of photographs shows how much pets meant to many seafarers. We do not know who most of the people are – detailed records have not survived. But their attachment to their little shipmates is very apparent.

Cats & Dogs - All at Sea is a touring exhibition from the Australian National Maritime Museum.

The exhibition will run form 20 January - 28 April 2024

Free entry!

Contact
Western Plains Cultural Centre
Western Plains Cultural Centre
Explore Dubbo