Skip to main content
Key details
Exhibitions and Shows
Saturday 1 October
10:00am - 4:00pm
76 Wingewarra Street, Dubbo, NSW 2830
Other dates
Sunday 2 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
Monday 3 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday 4 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday 5 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday 6 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
Friday 7 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday 8 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
Sunday 9 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
Monday 10 October 10:00am - 4:00pm
About this event

EUAN MACLEOD AND RODNEY POPLE

TWO DEGREES

Friends and well-known Australian artists Euan Macleod and Rodney Pople undertook artist residencies in Dubbo during 2021, observing people and animals at Taronga Western Plains Zoo. Each artist produced sketches and preparatory studies at the Zoo, expanding on these later in the studio. For their first two-person exhibition they have produced large scale paintings and portraits of animals and humans, revealing a sustained engagement with the act of looking and its reverse – being looked at. In different ways characteristic of each artists’ established practice, the paintings explore notions of captivity and freedom, drawing out the absurdity at the heart of our own ideas around dominance and survival.

Contact
Western Plains Cultural Centre
Western Plains Cultural Centre
Explore Dubbo