Skip to main content
Key details
Exhibitions and Shows
Thursday 19 May
10:00am - 4:00pm
76 Wingewarra Street, Dubbo, NSW 2830
Other dates
Friday 20 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday 21 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
Sunday 22 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
Monday 23 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday 24 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday 25 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday 26 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
Friday 27 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday 28 May 10:00am - 4:00pm
About this event

Attending a Ball was the epitome of social interaction in the 19th and early twentieth centuries. More than just a pleasurable activity, it had an important social function. Held to celebrate important local events, to raise funds for charities and to showcase the latest debutantes, they provided one of the few public spaces where young men and women could interact, and dancing offered an opportunity to flirt, admire and attract. This exhibition at the Western Plains Cultural Centre will explore the world of the Ball, and its importance to the social fabric of the region.

Image Credit: Hospital Ball at Empire Hall, Macquarie Street, Dubbo, 9 August 1912, Local Studies Collection, Dubbo Regional Council, D0000510

Contact
Western Plains Cultural Centre
Western Plains Cultural Centre
Explore Dubbo