Skip to main content
Key details
Exhibitions and Shows
Thursday 5 August
10:00am - 4:00pm
76 Wingewarra Street, Dubbo, NSW 2830
Other dates
Friday 6 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday 7 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
Sunday 8 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
Monday 9 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
Tuesday 10 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
Wednesday 11 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
Thursday 12 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
Friday 13 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday 14 August 10:00am - 4:00pm
About this event

31 July - 7 November

What do the RAAF Base, St Raphael’s Church in Cowra, St Mary’s School, Wellington, the Nyngan RSL Club, the Forbes Olympic Pool and the Amaroo Hotel have in common? A Dubbo-based company built them all.

When Robert ‘Bob’ Wallace and Phillip ‘Phil’ McGee joined forces as builders and contractors in Dubbo in 1922, little did they know that their company would play such a huge role in the development of the cities and towns in western NSW. Wallace and McGee was a family business that grew to become a major construction firm under the subsidiary Walmac, while the Wallace and McGee hardware store, ‘where quality and value are the twin pillars of business’, served the Dubbo community for many years.

This exhibition will explore the history of the company as well as its impact on the establishment and consolidation of communities across the western region.

Curated by Simone Taylor and Kent Buchanan.

Contact
Western Plains Cultural Centre
Western Plains Cultural Centre
Explore Dubbo